Some days ago there was an astound news about Black Pus/Oozing Wound split LP by Thrill Jockey Records. Here is the next one


Why Do The Heathen Rage?

is a collection of electronic covers of black metal classics by Soft Pink Truth. It’s solo project of Drew Daniel from experimental electronic duo Matmos. His partners in crime: Antony Hegarty of Antony and the Johnsons, Jenn Wasner from indie-folkrock duo Wye Oak, Terrance Hannum from drone-metal band Locrian, his Matmos partner M.C. Schmidt and more. So

“Open the door, enter hells core
Black is the code for tonight
Atomic force, feel no remorse
Crank up the amps now it’s night
lay down your soul to the gods rock `n’ roll”

The original

Tracklist: 1. Invocation for Strength  2. Black Metal (Venom)  3. Sadomatic Rites (Beherit)  4. Ready to Fuck (Sarcófago)  5. Satanic Black Devotion (Sargeist)  6. Beholding the Throne of Might (Darkthrone)  7. Let There Be Ebola Frost (AN)  8. Buried by Time and Dust (Mayhem)  9. Maniac (Hellhammer)  10. Grim and Frostbitten Gay Bar (Impaled Northern Moonforest)

“One of our main distributors has refused to carry the record due to this content… that’s no joke.” was written by the publisher Thrill Jockey Records (US). It’s out on LP/CD on June 16th.

Drew Daniel has released a similar album in 2004: Do You Want New Wave (Or Do You Want The Soft Pink Truth?) which consisted house covers of classic hardcore and punk songs. For example: Minor Threat – Out Of Step

A Soft Pink Truth show in Europe: June 5th Copenhagen, Denmark – Distortion Festival
Matmos Euro tour May-June


Szólj hozzá / Comment ()

© Copyright 2013-2023 RNR666.